One Week Left to Get an 11" iPad Pro with Apple Pencil w/ OnDemand Training

Webcasts

To attend this webcast, login to your SANS Account or create your Account.

This webcast has been archived. To view the webcast login into your SANS Portal Account or create an account by clicking the "Get Registered" button on the right. Once you register, you can download the presentation slides below.

Data-Centric Security

  • Thursday, Feb 13th at 11am Singapore time / 12noon Tokyo / 2pm Sydney / Wednesday, Feb 12th at 10 pm ESTWednesday, February 12, 2020 at 10:00 PM EST (2020-02-13 03:00:00 UTC)
  • Justin Henderson

You can now attend the webcast using your mobile device!

  

Overview

When you ask individuals what they think a defensible security architecture includes, most will say things such as antivirus, firewalls, intrusion prevention, SIEM, whitelisting, etc. And yet, these technologies mean absolutely nothing if you do not know where your data is or how sensitive it is. Do not waste your best defenses by not applying them correctly. Put another way, how can you secure your environment if you run around blind.

This webcast focuses in on the data-centric security model. Know thy data and its importance so that you may effectively make decisions to secure it. If you have a critical web-server you probably also have a vital database. Of course, this discussion would not be complete without talking about finding data in places it should not be. Because if you are not checking for data in unauthorized locations, you likely have data in unauthorized locations.

Speaker Bio

Justin Henderson

Justin Henderson is a certified SANS instructor who authored the SEC555 SIEM with Tactical Analytics course and co-authored SEC455 SIEM Design and Implementation and SEC530 Defensible Security Architecture and Engineering. He is a member of the SANS Cyber Guardian Blue Team who is passionate about making defense fun and engaging. Justin specializes in threat hunting via SIEM, network security monitoring and ad hoc scripting.

Need Help? Visit our FAQ page or email webcast-support@sans.org.

Not able to attend a SANS webcast? All Webcasts are archived so you may view and listen at a time convenient to your schedule. View our webcast archive and access webcast recordings/PDF slides.