SANS Presents: People Who Made a Difference in Security in 2023

2023 DMA Award Categories

CategoryDescriptionNomineesWinner - CommunityWinner - Committee
Article or Book of the YearPublished content in book or article form that makes a significant contribution to cybersecurity literature

Software Transparency: Supply Chain Security in an Era of a Software-Driven Society by Chris Hughes and Tony Turner

The Ransomware Diaries, Jon DiMaggio

11 Strategies of a World-Class SOC , MITRE with authors Kathryn Knerler, Ingrid Parker, Carson Zimmerman

The Little Cyber Engineer By Amber DeVilbiss

See Yourself in Cybersecurity, Zinet Kemal

The Ransomware Diaries, Jon DiMaggioSee Yourself in Cybersecurity, Zinet Kemal
Community Champion/Influencer of the YearDeeply supports the community and/or social media presence provides valuable resources and connections for others in the field

Alyssa Miller

Andrew Rathbun

Bryson Bort & Tom VanNorman

Caitlin Sarian

David Meece

Caitlin SarianDavid Meece
Diversity Champion of the YearDevotes significant time and energy to fostering talent and increasing representation and participation of under-represented minorities

Alma Maria Rinasz

Darold Kelly Jr

Kerissa Varma

LaLisha Hurt

Lillian Teng

MK Palmore

Sarah Morales

Lillian TengMK Palmore
Innovator of the YearUsing unique approaches to succeeded through innovation and risk-taking

Bryson Bort

David Kovar

Francesco Cipollone

Jones Baraza

Maxime Lamothe-Brassard

Jones BarazaBryson Bort
Mentor of the YearDevotes significant time and energy to fostering talent and support those getting into cybersecurity

Donny Greene

Justin David G. Pineda

Lesley Carhart

Mark Perry

Tanya Janca

Tanya JancaDonny Greene
Open-Source Tool Creator of the YearCreated an open-source tool that is of significant value

Nick Tsamis, Misha Belisle & Blaine Jeffries

Brian Maloney

David Blais

Steve Springett

Jean-Pierre LESUEUR

Dependency Track (OWASP) - Steve SpringettCaldera for OT - Blaine Jeffries, Misha Belisle. Nick Tsamis
Podcast, Livestream or Video Series of the YearPodcast or video of live-streamed content that makes a significant contribution to the industry

John Hubbard | BlueTeam Podcast

Larry Pesce & Paul Asadoorian | Security Weekly

Patrick Akil | Beyond Coding Podcast

Phillip Wylie | The Hacker Factory

Erika Eakins, Maril Vernon & Amber Devilbiss | The Cyber Queens Podcast

Phillip Wylie | The Hacker FactoryErika Eakins, Maril Vernon & Amber Devilbiss | The Cyber Queens Podcast
Rising StarNewer practitioners to keep an eye on

Day Johnson

Dimple Gajra

Jasmine Suarez

Jonny Johnson

Zinet Kemal

Dimple GajraJasmine Suarez
Team Leader of the Year

Displayed extraordinary leadership skills, dedication to their team and passion for fostering an inclusive, thriving team environment

Komi Sergio Hognaglo

Laurie Salvail

Martin Bos

Robert Wood

Tia Hopkins

Tia HopkinsRobert Wood
Team or Practitioner of the YearAn individual or team who has done extraordinary work

Ambareen Siraj

CyberDefenders Team

Molly McLain Sterling's Security Culture Team

Proofpoint Threat Research Team

The KC7 Team

CyberDefenders TeamThe KC7 Team
Lifetime Achievement AwardTranscends categories; has made substantial contributions to cybersecurity over many years

Craig Newmark

Kevin Mitnick

Lisa Ventura MBE

Ron Gula

Kevin MitnickRon Gula