Tech Tuesdays Workshops Banner

SANS Workshops

Dive into material and get hands-on experience with tools and techniques that you can apply immediately with these FREE workshops led by SANS Faculty.

Free Upcoming SANS Workshops

In these workshops you will:

  • Learn Hands-on Skills that you can use immediately
  • Go In-Depth into the latest technology
  • Interact with other attendees
  • Get access to SANS top Instructors

The upcoming workshops are listed out below and will feature live stream instruction, subject matter expert support, immersive hands-on labs and student to student interactive Slack workspace similar to our Live Online environment.

Due to the nature of these workshops, many have a capacity limit and may not be made available for archive. To help us offer this opportunity to as many people as possible, we are asking that you please only register if you plan to attend live. Archived workshops will be available for self-guided viewing after the workshop has ended.

CLD_-_Building_Better_Detections_-_Azure_Edition_-_Workshop_-_6.11

Thursday, June 8 | 3:00PM EDT | (19:00 UTC)

Duration: 2 Hours

This is a 2 hour hands-on workshop. As with any enterprise environment, we can (and should) focus on hardening our defenses to keep the adversaries out, but these defenses may some day be evaded via a variety of methods. Cloud is no different.

Upcoming SANS Workshops

Please click through to registration for more information including prerequisites and systems requirements.
WorkshopPresenter(s)Date/TimeDescription
Hands-On Workshop: Building Better Detections - Azure EditionRyan Nicholson, Alexander BraulikThursday, 8 Jun 2023 3:00PM EDT (19:00 UTC)As with any enterprise environment, we can (and should) focus on hardening our defenses to keep the adversaries out, but these defenses may some day be evaded via a variety of methods. Cloud is no different.
Docker Crash Course: How to Containerize Your Favorite Security ToolsKenneth G. HartmanTuesday, 20 Jun 2023 9:00AM EDT (13:00 UTC)This two-hour workshop will introduce the student to Docker containers and images. During the workshop, we will create an image that contains the Command Line Interfaces for AWS, Azure, and Google Cloud as our example, but the same process would be followed for any Linux-based command line tool.
Unlocking Digital Mysteries: Password Cracking for OSINT & Forensic InvestigationsMatt EdmondsonThursday, 22 Jun 2023 2:00PM EDT (22 Jun 2023 18:00 UTC)Have you ever stumbled across a file that you wanted to access but couldn’t due to the fact that it was password protected? Password cracking is a topic covered in depth in penetration testing courses but rarely in digital forensics or OSINT, even though it’s extremely applicable.
In this workshop, we’ll briefly cover the theory behind how passwords work but will spend most of our time covering practical techniques to access password-protected Office documents, PDFs, Zip files, and more. We’ll discuss free tools and resources you can start using immediately and provide password-protected files for you to practice on!
Multi Cloud Data SecurityBrandon EvansThursday, 27 Jun 2023 10:00AM EDT (14:00 UTC)Securing data in the cloud is so much more than blocking public buckets. Even private data can be exfiltrated, unencrypted, and inappropriately stored. Misconfigurations and mitigations are often highly cloud-specific. In this workshop hosted by Brandon Evans, SANS Certified Instructor and the Lead Author of SEC510: Public Cloud Security: AWS, Azure, and GCP, you will identify and address these concerns using cloud native services in the Big 3 cloud providers.

Details and registration for future workshops will be added as they become available.