OSINT in the era of disinformation and fake news

  • Wednesday, 25 May 2022 2:00PM SST (25 May 2022 06:00 UTC)
  • Speaker: Nico Dekens

This webcast will be presented in English, and will also be available to watch in Bahasa Indonesian, Japanese, Korean, Thai & Vietnamese via simultaneous audio translation.

Webcast times:

06:00 a.m. UTC
11:30 a.m. UTC+05:30 (India)
01:00 p.m. UTC+07:00 (Indonesia / Thailand / Vietnam)
02:00 p.m. UTC+08:00 (Singapore / Philippines)
03:00 p.m. UTC+09:00 (Japan / Korea)
04:00 p.m. UTC+10:00 (Australia Eastern Daylight Time)
06:00 p.m. UTC+12:00 (New Zealand)
11:00 p.m. UTC-07:00 (Pacific Time Zone – Tuesday, 24 May 2022)

Webcast Abstract

English
In this talk Nico Dekens will step through the prolific disinformation propagating online and develop techniques for validation & verification in the OSINT environment.

He will cover the following topics:

  • What is disinformation or fake news
  • Critical thinking
  • The process
  • Practical tips

Bahasa Indonesian
Dalam siaran web ini, Nico Dekens akan membahas penyebaran disinformasi secara online dan mengembangkan teknik validasi & verifikasi di lingkungan OSINT.

Ia akan membahas topik-topik berikut:

  • Apa itu disinformasi atau berita palsu?
  • Berpikir kritis
  • Proses
  • Tips praktis

Japanese
このWebcastでは、Nico Dekensがオンラインで多発している偽情報に対して、OSINT環境における検証と確認のテクニックを紹介します。

下記のトピックについて紹介します:

· 偽情報やフェイクニュースとは?

· クリティカルシンキング

· プロセス

· 活用できるヒント

Korean
이번 강연에서 Nico Dekens 는 온라인으로 전파되는 많은 허위 정보를 처리하고 오픈 소스 인텔리전스 환경에서 확인 및 검증을 위한 기술개발 내용을 다룰 것입니다.

그는 다음의 주제들을 다를 것입니다:

허위 정보 또는 가짜 뉴스란 무엇인가?

비판적 사고

과정

실용적인 팁

Thai
ในการบรรยายนี้ Nico Dekens จะแนะนำขั้นตอนการตรวจสอบข้อมูล online ที่บิดเบือน และเทคนิคการตรวจสอบและยืนยันข้อมูลใน OSINT (Open-Source Intelligence)

ผู้บรรยายจะบรรยายในหัวข้อดังนี้:

- ข้อมูลที่บิดเบือน หรือ fake news คืออะไร

- การคิดอย่างมีเหตุมีผล

- กระบวนการ

- ทิปสำหรับใช้ในทางปฏิบัติ


Vietnamese
Trong buổi đối thoại này, ông Nico Dekens sẽ hướng dẫn chúng ta cách nhận diện thông tin sai lệch trên mạng cũng như cách xây dựng kỹ thuật xác thực và xác minh trong môi trường OSINT (Thông tin tình báo nguồn mở).

Ông sẽ đề cập về các chủ đề sau:

  • Thông tin sai lệch và tin giả là gì
  • Tư duy phản biện
  • Quy trình
  • Các mẹo hữu dụng