Tools and Techniques for Assessing Android Malware

  • Webcast Aired Wednesday, 08 Feb 2017 8:00PM EST (09 Feb 2017 01:00 UTC)
  • Speaker: Christopher Crowley

SANS Asia-Pacific Webcast Series- Tools and Techniques for Assessing Android Malware

Join us for the next installment of the SANS APAC webcast series, as we take a detailed look at Tools and Techniques for Assessing Android Malware.

Topic: Tools and Techniques for Assessing Android Malware

Presenter: Christopher Crowley, SANS Principal Instructor

Date: Thursday, February 9, 2017

Time: 9:00 am Singapore / 12:00 pm Canberra

'

Note: This webcast is free of charge however a SANS portal account is required (see webcast link for details)

'

SANS Asia-Pacific Webcast Series- Tools and Techniques for Assessing Android Malware

Android malware is substantially more common that iOS malware. Android users can choose to disable the 'Unknown sources ' Allow installation of apps from unknown sources ' and install applications from anywhere.

'

In this webcast Christopher Crowley will show tools and techniques you can use to inspect Android applications to determine if they exhibit malicious behavior. This methodology can be employed as forensic analysis and can also be used in application assessments to determine if an application is suitable for use within an organization.

'

Malicious behavior includes: persistent root, installation of ad revenue producing apps, and key logger collection of credentials to steal information within protected containers. Malware spreading vectors includes drive by downloads, and fraudulent applications purporting to be pornography. It also tries to trick users into installing software, claiming to be an update, in order to root the phone.

'

Get a preview of capabilities to be discussed in the upcoming SEC575 in Canberra, ACT March 20th - 26th.