Develop invaluable cybersecurity skills through interactive training during SANS 2021 - Live Online. Register now.

Webcasts

To attend this webcast, login to your SANS Account or create your Account.

This webcast has been archived. To view the webcast login into your SANS Portal Account or create an account by clicking the "Get Registered" button on the right. Once you register, you can download the presentation slides below.

Trust No One: Introducing SEC530: Defensible Security Architecture

  • Tuesday, September 18, 2018 at 10:00 am Singapore / 11:00 am Tokyo / 12:00 pm SydneyMonday, September 17, 2018 at 10:00 PM EDT (2018-09-18 02:00:00 UTC)
  • Eric Conrad

You can now attend the webcast using your mobile device!

  

Overview

This webcast introduces the new SEC530: Defensible Security Architecture course. It is designed to help students understand and design a zero-trust architecture, where the old concepts of a trusted inside network and an untrusted outside are changed: nothing is trusted (by default), whether it's internal or external. "The perimeter is dead" is a favorite saying in this age of mobile, cloud, and the Internet of Things, and we are indeed living in new a world of "de-perimeterization".

This changing landscape requires a change in mindset, as well as a repurposing of many devices. Where does it leave our classic perimeter devices such as firewalls? What are the ramifications of the "encrypt everything" mindset for devices such as Network Intrusion Detection Systems? Join us on this webcast to learn what the course is about as well as some of the fundamentals of up-to-date defensible security architecture.

Speaker Bio

Eric Conrad

Certified SANS instructor Eric Conrad's career began in 1991 as a Unix sysadmin for a small oceanographic communications company. He gained experience in a variety of industries, including research, education, power, Internet, and healthcare, and has worked with companies such as Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs, Boston University, The Open Group, Navipath, and Caritas Christi Health Care. He is now an independent information security consultant focusing on intrusion detection, incident handling, and penetration testing. He is a graduate of the SANS Technology Institute with a Master of Science degree in information security engineering. In addition to the CISSP, he holds the prestigious GIAC Security Expert (GSE) certification as well as the GIAC GPEN, GCIH, GCIA, GCFA, GAWN, and GSEC certifications. He is a contributing author to SANS HIPAA Security Implementation. Eric also blogs about information security at http://www.ericconrad.com.

Need Help? Visit our FAQ page or email webcast-support@sans.org.

Not able to attend a SANS webcast? All Webcasts are archived so you may view and listen at a time convenient to your schedule. View our webcast archive and access webcast recordings/PDF slides.