Last Day to Save $400 on SANS Network Security 2014

GIAC Certified Incident Handler - GCIH Added to CND Analyst Category of DoD 8570

For Immediate Release

Contact: Tiffany Keller
Tel: (303) 772-2917

Bethesda, MD - May 31, 2012 - Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC), a leading information security certification body, is pleased to announce the GIAC Certified Incident Handler - GCIH has been added to the CND Analyst category of the Department of Defense Directive 8570 (DoD 8570).

Computer Network Defense (CND) personnel provide CND situational awareness, implement CND protective measures, monitor and analyze network alerts in order to detect unauthorized activity, and implement CND operational direction. The GCIH certification focuses on detecting, responding, and resolving computer security incidents.

GIAC has more certifications than any other certification body that meet the DoD 8570 requirements for the Information Assurance Technical (IAT) and Information Assurance Management (IAM), Computer Environment (CE) and Computer Network Defense (CND) categories.

The GIAC program is unique in the information security industry because it offers more than 20 specialized certifications that are associated with specific skill sets and job roles within the IT security industry. The GIAC certification process and Real Skill Test® exam questions help ensure certified professionals are able to demonstrate the hands-on competency which proves they actually possess real-world skills related to the cyber security certification they hold.

To learn more about the GIAC program or to see a complete list of GIAC certifications, please visit:

About Global Information Assurance Certification (GIAC)

GIAC is a certification body featuring over 20 hands-on, technical certifications in information security. GIAC has certified over 40,000 IT security professionals since it was founded in 1999. The GIAC program goes beyond theory and terminology and tests specific job-based-skills of Forensics, Security, Operations, Management and Software Security disciplines. In 2007 the GIAC program was accredited under the prestigious IEC/ISO/ANSI 17024 quality standard for certifying bodies and currently has five accredited certifications. GIAC is an affiliate of the SANS Institute and operates with its own mission and board of directors.

- ### -