Last Day to Save $400 on SANS Network Security 2014

2011 National Cybersecurity Innovation Conference Award Winners

Australian Defence Signals Directorate

For identifying and Implementing the "Four Key Controls" that stop the spread of targeted cyber intrusions

Vicky Briant of the Australian Defence Signals Directorate, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt (Actual award winners: Steve McLeod and Chris Brookes)

Bureau of Diplomatic Security

For innovation and excellence in creating effective teams, techniques and counterintelligence to identify attackers quickly and eliminate malicious code installed on State Department computers

Christopher Lukas, Chief of the Cyber Threat Analysis Division of the Bureau of Diplomatic Security at the US Department of State, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

U.S. Central Command J-6; U.S. Air Force, U.S. Army, and Department of Defense, Chief Information Officers and their teams; and the Department of Defense Joint Consensus Working Group

For baking security into the configurations of Department of Defense Systems deployed in war zones: radically improving security while making implementation easy and lowering costs

Paul Bartock, NSA; James Clausen, DoD; and Bill Lord, Air Force, with White House Cyber Coordinator Howard Schmidt

Cisco wins National Cybersecurity Innovation Award in Meeting the Need for Critical Cybersecurity Skills

For the Security Knowledge Empowerment (SKE) program that develops key security knowledge of information technology architects, enabling them to become "security sensors."

Michele D. Guel, Distinguished IT Engineer and Senior Security Architect at Cisco, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

Federal Bureau of Investigation and the U.S. Attorney General's Office

For the Coreflood botnet Takedown - creative and proactive steps making the Internet more secure

Gordon Snow, Assistant Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

U.S. DHS Science and Technology Directorate, Cyber Security Division, Cyber Security Research & Development Center

For making federal cybersecurity research and development expendatures that have real value in improving security: Domain Name System Security (DNSSEC) national deployment - increased security that results in substantial cyber risk reduction

Edward Rhyne, DHS, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt (Not shown: Doug Maughan)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security National Cyber Security Division and Idaho National Laboratory

For securing control systems through innovative training programs

Ken Rohde and Rita Wells of the Idaho National Laboratory and Neil Hershfield of the Department of Homeland Security jointly receive the 2011 National Cybersecurity Innovation Award from White House Cyber Security Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

Los Alamos National Laboratory Wins National Cybersecurity Innovation Award for Leap Forward in Cloud Security

For "Infrastructure on Demand" - award-winning secure cloud initiatives in government

Anil Karmel, Los Alamos National Laboratory, U.S. Department of Energy, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

NASA Ames Research Center

For Nebula - an open-source cloud computing platform enabling the flow of information between NASA and the public

Matt Linton, NASA Ames Research Center, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

National Security Agency Information Assurance Directorate and Trusted Computing Group

For resurrecting the promise of application white listing and network access control - proving it can be done cost effectively

Steve Hanna of the Trusted Computing Group, and Paul Bartock and Eric Chudow of the Information Assurance Directorate, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

U.S. Air Force

For deploying a Cyber Range as an integral element of its training courses enables the Air Force to improve mastery of tactics, techniques, and procedures by the next generation of cyber warriors

Lt. Col. Brian Denman and Skip Runyan of the U.S. Air Force's 39th Information Operations Squadron, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

U.S. Department of State Office of the CIO

For achieving drastic risk reductions and rapid threat mitigation through continuous security monitoring and mitigation

John Streufert, U.S. Department of State, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

Zynga Inc.

For improvements in the security of cloud computing and virtual systems

Nils Puhlmann, Zynga, with White House Cyber Coordinator, Howard Schmidt

U.S. Department of Defense - DIB Cyber-Pilot, supported by the Department of Homeland Security DoD's Cyber Crime Center (DC3) and the National Security Agency

For piloting an active defense in a public-private partnership and demonstrating that sensitive data can be shared safely and with substantial risk reduction impact - The Defense Industrial Base (DIB) Cyber Pilot program

About the National Cybersecurity Innovation Awards

The National Cybersecurity Innovation Awards recognize developments undertaken by companies and government agencies who have developed and deployed processes or technologies which are innovative in that they (1) have not been deployed effectively before, (2) can show a significant impact on reducing cyber risk, (3) can be scaled quickly to serve large numbers of people, and (4) should be adopted quickly by many other organizations. Nominators included most senior government officials involved with Cybersecurity as well as those from major Cybersecurity Information Sharing and Analysis Centers (ISACs). Corporations and individuals, including SANS instructors, also nominated innovations. Each nomination was tested by the SANS Institute research department against all four criteria. More than 50 nominations were received; 14 were selected.

About SANS Institute

The SANS Institute was established in 1989 as a cooperative research and education organization. It has trained more than 130,000 security professionals in 70 countries. Through SANS, these alumni and a range of other individuals from auditors to security architects, from penetration testers to forensics experts, to chief information security officers, are all sharing lessons they learn and are jointly finding solutions to the challenges they face. At the heart of SANS are the many security practitioners in varied global organizations graciously and generously working together to help the entire information security community.

The SANS Institute is the most trusted and by far the largest source for information security training and security certification in the world. SANS also develops, maintains, and makes available at no cost, the largest collection of research documents about various aspects of information security, and it operates the Internet's early warning system - the Internet Storm Center. More information can be found at

- ### -